Fail Webmin costs millions

Anything newsworthy. Or newsworthy for being spectacularly un-newsworthy.
Forum rules
RTFA is assumed - do not reply unless you've read the linked article.
Cartollomew
I has a monocle (Site Admin)
Fail Webmin costs millions

Post by Cartollomew » 22 Jul 2009, 16:05

Who do you think you are? If you'd stopped winning, you could have been the Biggest Loser, if you gave up, you could have been a Survivor, if you'd stopped reading Orwell, you could have been on Big Brother!

Johnnyrico
Legendary

Re: Fail Webmin costs millions

Post by Johnnyrico » 22 Jul 2009, 18:57

err coz i dont work in IT, i dont get the punchline:

Anyone wanna explain that line of code to a non-programmer? O_o
Mews wrote:No Rico, it's a rhetorical question.
8?

Mews
Legendary

Post by Mews » 22 Jul 2009, 19:06

I'm no programmer, but I glean from it is that if the user tried to use Opera, it takes them to an error page/message.

Kinda thinking that's a bad thing to have on the Opera servers.
Having an abundance of platonic relationships reminiscent of my man, Mike Plato.

All that's left is a beautiful hour
And it's ours, ours.

The pale blue dot.

Cartollomew
I has a monocle (Site Admin)

Post by Cartollomew » 22 Jul 2009, 19:16

*Opera Software makes a web browser, called "Opera".
*They need to buy new hardware for a service they offer - new hardware to the tune of hundreds of thousands of dollars (millions of kroner - dirty scandinavians)
*Different hardware vendors deliver samples for Opera to test, hoping Opera will buy their stuff
*One vendor, we'll call them "Bell", delivers a server with a web control panel, containing a piece of code which explicitely fails for the Opera browser.
That is: The web page is instructed to redirect to an error page if someone tries to visit it using Opera.

It's almost like an architect submitting new building plans to a wheelchair manufacturer and having nothing but stairs everywhere.